Mess Media




Markus Cooke Award
Call for the 2010 Nominations

Markus Cook Award

It’s time to call for nominations for this year’s Markus Cook Award for services to the international messenger community.

This will be the 13th year that the award is presented. It was started by Buffalo Bill in 1998, to remember Markus and to draw attention to messengers whose work benefits all of us.

From the IFBMA’s Markus Cook Award page:

“The MCA for services to the International Messenger Community is not a prize for winning a race. At the time the Award was conceived, CMWC was beginning to be more about the racing than the happening. I [Buffalo Bill] wanted to re-establish the spirit of the championships, to restate the reason that we all come to this event every year. The MCA is a reflection of the axiom that everyone who comes to a CMWC is a winner, whether they race or not.

Markus himself was very much in love with the CMWC, and in many ways he was the unlikeliest bike racer imaginable. He was several other things, of course. Editor of Mercury Rising messenger zine, unofficial spokesperson of the SFBMA, leader of L Sid, and a friend to all. The enthusiasm of Markus brought CMWC and the international messenger community to San Francisco, and it saddens many people to this day that he did not live to see it.

This award is for people that inspire and empower the wider messenger community, that put all of us before themselves.

Last year's recipient was Luk Keller. Here is the 2009 announcement

2008's current recipient was, Martin Larsen. Here is the 2008 announcement

Information on previous recipients can be found here

There is no limit to the number of nominees and anyone can nominate someone. The messenger community is fortunate to have many people who are willing to devote time and effort to improve the lot of others. The difficult part is narrowing the list down to just one recipient every year.

We’re starting a bit late this year so I’m suggesting we close nominations in one week – at the end of the day, next Monday  October 5.

So send your nominations to the messenger list and/or copy me.

The basic but not so strict criteria are:

  - it must be mainly for activities that have taken place in the last 12 months; although you can also draw attention to his or her prior work.

 - they don’t have to be a working messenger; they can be a former messenger

 The decision will be taken by a committee of former recipients and will be awarded as close to  Messenger Appreciation Day (October 9) as possible.


For more on Markus:

Messenger Memorial page

SF Weekly feature article (somewhat flawed article)

Letters re SF Weekly article

Video clip of Markus:

(Apologies for the video quality)